Each year since 2001, the Foundation has partnered with the Arthritis National Research Foundation (ANRF) to sponsor a Sontag Fellow in the hopes that new exciting research is generated to help find a cure for those suffering from rheumatoid arthritis. A $1 million grant was awarded to ANRF in 2011 to ensure that a Sontag Fellow will continue to help in making a difference in the lives of rheumatoid arthritis patients.

To learn more about the work of ANRF and how you can help, please visit their website at www.curearthritis.org.

ANRF Sontag Fellow Recipients

Shahla Abdollahi-Roodaz, PhD (2015-16) 
New York University School of Medicine 
New York, NY 

Susan Carpenter, PhD (2014-15)
University of California
Santa Cruz, CA

George Kalliolias (2013-14)
Hospital for Special Surgery
New York, NY

Lisa Peterson, PhD (2012-13)
National Jewish Health
Denver, CO

Iannis Adamopoulos, DPhil (2011-12)
University of California
Davis Davis, CA

Joyce Wu, PhD (2010-11)
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Richard Di Paolo, PhD (2009-10)
Saint Louis University
St. Louis, MO

Shiva Shahrara, PhD (2008-09)
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL

Sougata Karmakar, PhD (2007-08)
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA

Nicole Walsh, PhD (2006-07)
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA

Xueding Wang, PhD (2005-06)
University of Michigan School of Medicine
Ann Arbor, MI

Jon Giles, MD (2004-05)
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Vyacheslav Adarichev, PhD (2003-04)
Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center
Chicago, IL

Monica Schaller, PhD (2002-03)
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA

Mireille Delhase, PhD (2001-02)
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA